Important Filing Information

Foundation scholarships are granted to qualified residents of Georgia who are U.S. citizens for the purpose of attending an accredited college or university full time.  The college or university must be accredited by a regional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education.

Most scholarships are granted for a period of one academic year and may be renewed for one or more additional years.

Scholarships are granted to:

  • Undergraduate students beyond the freshman year who have  or will complete 30 credit hours by end of their current Spring semester
  • To professional students who are pursuing their
    MD/DO or DMD/DDS degrees

All scholarships are granted without subsequent obligation of the student to the Foundation; however, former recipients and others are urged to make contributions to the Ty Cobb Educational Foundation when circumstances permit.

Although scholarships are granted only to students who are qualified residents of Georgia and U.S. citizens, a student may be awarded a scholarship to attend an accredited college or university in Georgia or another state.

Scholarships are normally awarded for a period of one academic year.

Scholarships are awarded for the purpose of attending a specific institution and may not be transferred to any other institution except by prior authorization of the scholarship board.

Funds awarded to students are sent directly to the approved college or university.

All information, forms and documents required of initial applicants or of renewal applicants must be electronically submitted no later than March 1.

The transcript must be official and must include grades of the most recent semester or quarter of attendance.

The scholarship awarded to a student will be revoked if the student fails to maintain the status of a full-time student in good standing, is placed on probation or suspension, or if the financial circumstances of the student no longer requires funds from this Foundation.